Dear Japan

The following is an epistolary regarding environmentalism in Japan.

Dear Japan,

How have you been?

I heard about the tragedies you survived after the industrial revolution of the 1960’s. I am amazed that you managed to push on after the Ashio Copper Mine leak, cadmium and mercury exposures in the Toyama and Kumamoto prefectures, even Fukushima Daiichi. If anyone is able to stand proudly on two feet after falling down it is you. You inspire me to create a better world for my children some day, and to leave this planet better than I found it. You have undeniable soul; sharing water, fish, and air amongst people and government. I wonder, does the island bring people together? What is it that makes people demand a better environment?

Thank you for listening.

Sincerely,

Daughter of Nature

image012Often times humankind is at the mercy of nature in delicate situations like tsunami or air pollution. I believe respect for this planet and posterity will  lead to a healthier global environment. I hope to open dialogue on patriotism and environmentalism through this topic.

More reading: A Brief History, Green Tokyo, Environmental Events

 

Author: Jess T.

I blog too much for my own good.

2 thoughts on “Dear Japan”

  1. I have heard from people who have gone to Tokyo that it is super clean for a large city. I live in a smaller inner city in Wisconsin, US and it disgusts me how much trash gets thrown around and the disregard people have for their environment! From my observations, it is a lack of personal respect for themselves. I believe if people were healthier and better taken care of, they would have the time and more of a capability to care for the things around them. I also feel that if everyone took the time to garden, even a plant or two, outdoors, and truly observe every day or so the symbiotic relationships that surrounds their plants, we would attach ourselves more to the natural world and in turn be more conscientious!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your insight! I too found it interesting how much of Japan’s environment is protected. People definitely start to recognize themselves as a part of the environment when they become more involved in it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

